Provo Underage DUI Lawyer | Juvenile Drunk Driving Defense Utah
Underage Driving Under the Influence in Utah – A Serious Offense
The Utah DUI laws are some of the toughest in the nation on those who drink and drive. A first offense can mean a mandatory suspension of the accused driver’s license for 90 days, large fines and court fees. There are some who say the system is tailored against those who are accused leaving them no way out. Ordinarily this requires the accused to have been found with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher, or was otherwise proven to be too intoxicated to operate a vehicle.
This is not a very harsh standard when compared to the rest of the Utah DUI code, but if the drive is under the age of 21 any trace of alcohol can lead to a charge of an underage DUI with many of the same harsh penalties attached. In 2010 this standard was implemented with Utah’s “not a drop” law stating that those under 21 should not ever be found having consumed alcohol.
Harsher Penalties For Those Under 21
The zero tolerance policy of alcohol for minors newly passed by Utah law makers has created stiffer penalties for them than adults. A mandatory drivers license suspension lasts for at least 120 days, or until the convicted minor reaches the age of 21 which ever is longer. This means that if the minor is convicted at 18, the suspension will last a full three years for a first offense of DUI. This harsh penalty can lead to job loss, failure of school courses and other serious social consequences for those convicted. This is in addition to other fines, probation and court costs that could also be implemented by the court. You will need the Provo Underage DUI Lawyer to defend your minor’s rights.
Harsh Penalties Call For Great Defenses
Even the first offense of underage DUI can lead to very serious consequences both legal and social in Utah. If you or someone you love have been charged with an underage DUI get help as soon as possible. Our law firm, Provo Criminal Defense, has helped people just like you protect their rights and implement defenses for each unique situation. You can fight and win against the state in a DUI charge like this. Contact us today for a consultation.