Utah County Bike Shops Burglarized

Multiple Stores Targeted

Over the weekend Trek Bicycle in American Fork was broken into and a bike worth more than $3,000 was stolen. The thieves smashed a store window, grabbed the bike, and took off. The most disheartening thing about the situation is that nearly the exact same thing happened a couple of weeks ago. The story gets worse however because over the last couple of weeks two other bike shops in Utah County have had similar experiences, Mad Dog Cycles in Orem and Timpanogos Cyclery in Pleasant Grove. The losses of all the bike shops combined is now well over $20,000, along with the repair and additional security costs.

Utah Theft Laws

Theft laws in Utah are separated out depending on the price of the merchandise that was stolen. If the value exceeds $5,000 then the charge is a second degree felony, third degree felony between $1,500 and $5,000, class A misdemeanor between $500 and $1,500, and class B misdemeanor if less than $500. Obviously in the case above the perpetrators, when caught, will be facing theft charges of a second degree felony, and will likely be facing other charges as well. The possible penalties for a second degree felony are 1-15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. The court would also likely require restitution from the defendants meaning they would have to compensate the victims for the damage and losses they created.

Utah County Defense Attorney

No matter what level of charges a person may be facing, hiring an attorney is always the right decision. Even for goods under $500, a conviction could mean 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine. With so much at stake you don’t want to risk defending yourself alone or just going along for the ride. Call Provo Criminal Defense today to set up an initial consultation and to find out how we can help you defend your rights.



Posted in Utah felony

Comments are closed.